37th Annual Art in the Park Judges’ Awards

By Meaghan Goepferich Posted on April 8, 2022

The 37th Annual Art in the Park, held March 12 and 13, 2022, overcame the challenges of severe weather on Saturday morning to have a wonderful show. The Hernando County Fine Arts Council, along with Presenting Sponsor Subaru of Port Richey, wishes to thank the sponsors, visitors, exhibitors, entertainers, food vendors, and volunteers. 

This year’s show introduced the re-imagined Children’s Experience, designed to be an interactive mini Art in the Park for kids. More than 45 community partners volunteered their time, materials, and volunteers to provide interactive art experiences and performances for the children. Our goal was to encourage the love of creativity in children. 

The 37th Annual Art in the Park Judges’ Awards:

Best of Show – Clovis Dean Rusk

Award Winners – Fine Arts

1st Place – Justin Alsedek

2nd Place – Herlys Perez

3rd Place – Richard Franklin and Judy Kerrigan

Honorable Mention – Lyn Bechtel and Diane Stover

Award Winners – Fine Crafts

1st Place – Cliff Anello

2nd Place – Peggy Palmer

3rd Place – LeAlta Brummett and Yvi Jones

Honorable Mention – Lori Wilkinson and Juan Lee

The Student Art Show invites art teachers from across the county to submit selected student work to be displayed at Art in the Park. The following students were selected to receive awards:

Art in the Park 2022, Student Art Show Winners

Best of Show – Madeline Teague, HHS

AP/College Category

1st Place – Adrianna Leon, Nature Coast Technical 

2nd Place – Sergio A Valle, SHS

3rd Place – Alyssa Salso, SHS

Honorable Mention – Janelle Rybka, SHS 

High School Category

1st Place – Madeline Teague, HHS

2nd Place – Mercy Sanchez, Spring Hill Christian Academy

3rd Place – Ava Hoyt, SHS

Honorable Mention – Amelia Esposito, SHS

Honorable Mention – Cheyenne Dame, HHS E-School

Middle School Category

1st Place – Madylyn Mastin, WWK-8

2nd Place – Gabriella Barnett, WHMS

3rd Place – Payton Gloetzner, EK-8

Honorable Mention – Alisa Cox, WWK-8

Honorable Mention – Jackson Blumengarten, WWK-8

Honorable Mention – Cayden Worth, EK-8

Elementary School Category

1st Place – Gia Panucci, SES 

2nd Place – Arianna Vina, WES 

3rd Place – Amelia Harrison, CES

Honorable Mention – Felicia Barrett, WES

Honorable Mention – Sonya O’Hara, SES

Sculpture Category

1st Place – Hannah Roehrig, WWK-8

2nd Place (co-winners) – Brianna Sims EK-8 & Leah Rivera, EK-8 

3rd Place – S’mya Duncan, EK-8

Honorable Mention – Lydia Molina, FCMS

Honorable Mention – Kaitlyn Lydting, SHS

New this year, the HCFAC created the Jan Knowles Student Art award, which was presented to each student category winner. Jan was the co-coordinator of Art in the Park for 23 years.

One highlight of the annual event is the People’s Choice Award. More than 415 attendees filled out “YOU BE THE JUDGE” cards to cast their ballots for their favorite artists. Here are the results: First Place – Danny O’Driscoll, Second Place (tie) – Amanda Kiser and David Sampson, Third Place – Justin Alsedek.

Art in the Park is a program of the Hernando County Fine Arts Council, which was chartered in 1987 by the Board of County Commissioners to encourage, promote, and support all the creative arts in Hernando County and provide a means to showcase the arts. To help support the arts through the Council’s Community Arts Grants, Arts in Education Grants, Art Mark summer program, and other programs, become an Arts Circle member, visit https://www.hernandoarts.org/arts-circle.



Stay Connected